August 4th comics

A quiet but great week, the highlight of which was Vertigo’s I Zombie, which gets better with every issue.

Spoilers ahead for: Avengers Prime, Hawkeye & Mockingbird, SHIELD, Young Allies, I Zombie

Avengers Prime #2

Writer: Brian Michael Bendis
Artist: Alan Davis

Story: 4/5
Art: 5/5

While this is a very solid story, it still isn’t the story I was expecting.

When I heard about Avengers Prime, I thought it was the perfect thing to get Tony, Steve and Thor talking again – and though Steve touches on their friendship, their brotherhood, in this issue, the emotional weight of it is overshadowed by the action and mystery.

I don’t care where they’ve ended up, I don’t care about the random woman Steve’s macking on or what Amora wants with Thor. I don’t care why Hela’s shown up. I just want the big three together again, working out their issues so they can lead the Marvel U into the true Heroic Age, and this is not that series.

Hawkeye & Mockingbird #3

Writer: Jim McCann
Artist: David Lopez

Story: 5/5
Art: 5/5

Color me totally and completely in love with this series.

Everything about it makes me happy the way comics and good storytelling should. Watching Clint and Bobbi work through their problems together while trying to fight supervillains at the cost of possibly their lives, their family, their relationship? I love it.

I’m really not into Fortune, though. Every time he’s on the page I want to punch him square in his smug, mustachioed face.

SHIELD #3

Writer: Jonathan Hickman
Artist: Dustin Weaver

Story: 5/5
Art: 5/5

Finally, an issue where things aren’t completely over my head. I’ve touched on this before in regards to Hickman’s writing, but in this issue, he strikes a great balance between depth and clarity.

Getting deeper into SHIELD’s past as a means to explain the present is epic, as was the reveal of whose life we were following this issue, and his role in the organization. I enjoyed Nostradamus, Galileo, I loved the bits of history woven through with the crazy — and can we talk about the crazy, ie the sex and impregnation of another species as a test?? At first I couldn’t believe what I was reading, but as things moved along and I began to understand this was an issue about what it costs to be the protectors of the world, I got where Hickman felt that fit into the storyline. But still! Crazy sauce. Of the tastiest kind.

Young Allies #3

Writer: Sean McKeever
Artist: David Baldeon

Story: 4/5
Art: 5/5

A few issues in, and I’m still enjoying Young Allies – more than Avengers Academy, when ti comes to the younger generation (but Young Avengers are still my favorite).

I do like the way McKeever is going about getting the team together – having a couple be friends, and have them work their way into one cohesive team as they get to know and trust each other. The Bastards of Evil (makes me giggle every time) are still enjoyable to read, though I’m dying to know the secrets about them already.

I Zombie #4

Writer: Chris Roberson
Artist: Michael Allred

Story: 5/5
Art: 5/5

Ahhhh, the reveal! This seris continues to delight me to no end. Of course there would be a mummy around, and of course he would be incredibly sophisticated and likeable. The explanation for why Gwen is a zombie and why all the other supernatural creatures exist is fantastic as well, a unique way of looking at things I’ve never come across before. (There could possibly be the same idea elsewhere, I just haven’t seen  it.)

What’s also fantastic is the art work, especially the pages where Amon takes Gwen on a tour through the past. It’s unique, it’s compelling, and the layout is just nice to look at:

This is easily my favorite new non-super series of the year, and I can’t recommend it enough.

About Chantaal

A book reading, nail polish hoarding, makeup loving, TV marathoning, comic book talking Philosophy major. I want to be Rashida Jones when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Marvel, Vertigo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August 4th comics

  1. Leshia says:

    Dude, those layouts are classic Allred, if you like that sort of stuff, you should definitely check out his work on Madman. Also, the Metamorpho story he did for Wednesday Comics with Neil Gaiman. I LOVE MIKE ALLRED.

Leave a Reply

