comiXology and my favourite books

I realise that I recommend a lot of comics.  It can be hard to break into an ongoing series, or to find old trades or graphic novels at your LCS.  More than that, it can be expensive to buy them all, or you might not even have an LCS near you.  Luckily there is help for that! ComiXology is a brilliant repository of downloadable comics, and many of my favourite series and writers are featured there.  So, I thought I’d share some links for some of the books I love with you.  Many of these have free first issues or are $1.99 per issue!  It’s a brilliant way to catch up on things, or to discover a new series.

Birds of Prey

Writer: Gail Simone
Artist: Various  

Starting with Gail’s original Birds of Prey run, you can get issues 56-72 on comiXology.com here.  At $1.99 each, this is a great deal, and it’s a perfect place to start the series.  See her throw Canary, Oracle and Huntress into a fire and not let up on the pressure.  A book about three of the most interesting and strongest women in comics, Simone’s writing and characterisation are stunning.

Power Girl

Writer: Jimmy Palmiotti & Justin Gray
Artist: Amanda Conner Both Chantaal and I have talked about Power Girl and how much we love this series.  It’s brilliant writing, and the art is just perfect.  There’s attitude and fun in it, and I love seeing Amanda’s work – especially working off these two.  comiXology has the first six issues of their 12 issue run available, also for $1.99

 

Fables

Writer: Bill Willingham
Artist: Various

Wow!  I actually found this because Jimmy Palmiotti inked a couple of issues.  I hadn’t realised that Fables – one of my favourite ongoing series – was on comiXology.com.  30 issues, also $1.99 each. It’s a brilliant re-envisioning of the fairy tales and fables we knew as kids, who’re living in exile in New York City.

The Pro

Writer: Garth Ennis
Artist: Amanda Conner

Featuring the brilliant team of Garth Ennis, Amanda Conner and Jimmy Palmiotti (plus colours by the always amazing Paul Mounts), it answers the question ‘what happens when the most unlikely person ends up with superpowers’.  In this case the unlikely person is a prostitute and single mom who really doesn’t have a lot of patience for the crap the league of heroes throws at her.  There’s a free 7 page preview at comiXology.com and if you like it, you can buy it for $3.99.

Welcome to Tranquility

Writer: Gail Simone
Artist: Neil Googe

This quirky 12 issue book asks another very good question.  What happens when superheroes get old?  What are their lives like outside of being heroes?  Set in Tranquility, a retirement town for the superpowered, this book takes interesting turns I know I never expected.  Simone recently started anotehr Tranquility mini-series, but you can get the first six issues of the first run at comiXology.com for only $0.99 each.

Jonah Hex

Writer: Jimmy Palmiotti & Justin Gray
Artist: Various and all freaking amazing

Hi.  I love Jonah Hex.  I love the main character (for all that he’s not actually lovable), I love the historical setting, I love the fact most of the stories are done-in-one (ie, self-contained within the issue).  I also love the artists they manage to get on this book, each bringing their own flavour and interpretation to these brilliant tales.  Finally, I love that you can now get the first 25 issues for $1.99 each at comiXology!

Hack/Slash

Writer: Tim Seeley
Artist: Various

Hell, I’m going to quote comiXology on this one.  At the end of every horror movie one lone girl survives… In Hack/Slash that girl not only survives, but becomes a killer of killers. HOW CAN YOU SAY NO TO THAT?  One of the most interesting comics I’ve read in a while, it’s very true to the horror genre without being cliched.  I love Cassie as a character, and I really quite like Vlad too.  There are two places you can start here. With Hack/Slash the series with 31 issues for $.99 each, or with the new mini-series, where you can get the first two issues at $1.99 each.

Detective Comics

Writer: Greg Rucka
Artist: JH Williams III

Alright, so there’s only one issue on comiXology.com. But it’s a great introduction (or re-introduction) to the character of Batwoman.  And one issue of this brilliant book will send you running out to buy a copy of Elegy which collects her story from Detective Comics, and it’ll make you want to buy the new book by JH Williams and Amy Reeder starting in November.

There are a couple other books I think you should check out.  Time Bomb and the Resistance, both by Palmiotti and Gray.  Most of what Garth Ennis has up.  I love Witchblade.  I love Mike Carey’s the Unwritten.  The first couple issues of Mice Templar and the first six of the new run of Red Sonja. They have Slave Labor’s Serenity Rose up which was a hugely underrated book that I would have loved to see more of.  Fell, which is a brilliant Warren Ellis book with gorgeous and haunting Ben Templesmith art. Or try Icorruptible or Irredeemable by Mark Waid, books that turn the world of superheroes and villains on end.

I could go on and on about the books on here.  Heck, I already have!  But take these recommendations for what they’re worth – these are all books I love, and I hope you’ll find something in there to love too.

About deense

Canastralian. Cosplayer. Comic book addict. Travel addict. Convention addict. ...I think that's a lot of addictions and I might need a 12 step program
This entry was posted in DC, Favorites, Radical, Vertigo, Wildstorm and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to comiXology and my favourite books

  1. Pingback: CasdraBlog » Blog Archive » links for 2010-10-29

  2. Pingback: A couple of things! | Girls Read Comics Too

  3. Pingback: The Pro animation | Girls Read Comics Too

Leave a Reply

