X-Men: First Class Trailer

If this movie were all about Charles Xavier, Erik Lensherr and the journey that takes them from being best friends to being enemies (or frenemies, if you want to get all colloquial with it), then I would be all over this without a care. I’ve made no secret of my thoughts on X-Men: First Class, and I now realize, after watching this trailer, that therein lies my problem: it’s called X-Men: First Class.

If you’re going to name an X-Men movie after Cyclops, Marvel Girl, Angel, Beast and Ice Man and their tutelage under Professor X, make the movie about them. Don’t insert a whole bunch of random mutants, throw them in a decade they don’t belong in (other than Xavier and Magneto) and call it X-Men.

Looking at this trailer…it’s awesome! It looks fun, it looks like a wild ride, and I’m totally going to love seeing how Charles and Erik’s relationship progresses.

I just have to remind myself that this isn’t really X-Men: First Class, it’s just another movie about a bunch of mutants who look and sound kinda familiar. I can work with that.

About Chantaal

A book reading, nail polish hoarding, makeup loving, TV marathoning, comic book talking Philosophy major. I want to be Rashida Jones when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Films and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to X-Men: First Class Trailer

  1. pseudicide says:

    Exactly this. This movie looks great, but it doesn’t look like the X-Men gen 1 at all.

Leave a Reply

