Five Minute Marvels – Unleash your artist

I cannot draw.  I often bemoan this fact, and am in constant awe of those who can.  I fully realise that drawing, like any other skill, is something that gets better with practice, but I also believe that there needs to be some sort of innate talent or you just won’t get anywhere.  Believe me, I am not one of those people with any innate talent.

But there was a time I used to love to draw.  I might not have been very good at it, but I’d sketch characters or people or little scenes that played out in my mind.  As I got older, self-consiousness set in, and I started judging what I did.  Eventually I stopped.

Maybe this is why I was so excited when Tim from Five Minute Marvels first brought the blog to my attention.  Tim’s own words are likely the best ones to describe the project:

I came by a love of comics and drawing honestly — my dad loved them both. I grew up in a house full of books on cartooning and spent many Saturdays rifling through the 25 cent boxes at the local comic book store or the flea market or the garage sale down the street for buried treasure. When I wasn’t doing that, I was drawing.

But, then, I “grew up.” I realized I wasn’t the second coming of Jack Kirby. I became very self-conscious about it  and stopped drawing.

Then, I had kids — two little girls, Grace (6) & Cate (5). And, there came a day when they looked at my comic books and asked if they could draw with me. And, so a bedtime tradition was born. We picked one character and spent five minutes — just enough to have fun, but not enough to beat yourself up about your drawing.

I hope you’ll join us in our tradition and send us your art. You may not be setting the kid in your life up for a lifelong love of comics … but, I’m willing to bet you’ll have fun.

This resonated with me so much.  Perhaps not the part about having children wanting to draw, but about realising that I just wasn’t good and letting go of something I thought was fun.

So, a few months back I committed to frawing a five minute marvel or two.  And then I stalled.  And stalled some more.  Until I realised it was almost three months since I’d said I would and I wasn’t drawing simply because I was afraid I wouldn’t be good enough.

Last night that changed.  Armed with pencils and a couple markers, I sat down and drew two characters.  Ms Marvel (also the first character they drew on the blog) and a Black Canary.  I scanned them and sent them to the Five Minute Marvel crew and at some point they’ll likely post them.  You’ll need to go there to see them, and I’ll let you know when they’re up.

The thing is, it was fun.  Two false starts and I told myself to just do it.  So I did, and I enjoyed it.  I drew two characters I love, I did it badly, and I don’t care.  It was an enjoyable process and it’s made me want to do it again.  It’s made me want to throw the small sketchbook I have back in my bag and to doodle and scribble and sketch again.

So to Tim, Grace and Cate?  Thank you.  You’ve helped me realise that while I’ll never be another Amanda Conner, I can still have a lot of fun doing what I do.  I appreciate that so much.

Check out Five Minute Marvels here, and also check out their submission process!  I’d love to see more people give it a go, and I would LOVE to see the rest of the GRCT crew to try it as well.

About deense

Canastralian. Cosplayer. Comic book addict. Travel addict. Convention addict. ...I think that's a lot of addictions and I might need a 12 step program
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Five Minute Marvels – Unleash your artist

  1. E. Peterman says:

    Wonderful, wonderful post. As someone who drew decently in childhood but stopped, I could relate. I love the idea of simply drawing for fun.

    • pseudicide says:

      Thanks! I’m very happy I did it, and am going to try and keep it up, even if I don’t necessarily keep drawing superheroes!

  2. lauraH says:

    Wow – that was just an awesome article, I did not only enjoy reading it, but can in some way totally relate to that, only in kind of a reverse order. When I was younger and loved to draw macabre stuff, I was often laughed at (especially by teachers). A few years later I realized that drawing (and for me personally, even more writing) comics was just so much fun, I became determined that my career and future would be there. Your post is just another thumbs up! :)

  3. MattG says:

    Your situation sounds practically the same as mine. As a kid, I would draw all the time. I would try to copy the comic strips from the newspaper. Tumbleweeds was a favorite of mine to draw.

    Then I grew up.

    I bought a sketch book, but I have this irrational fear of drawing in it. Like whatever marks I make in that book aren’t worthy of the paper. I am totally going to try 5 Minute Marvels now. Screw it, it’s just paper.

    Thank you!

  4. judah says:

    Such a great idea!

    It may sound “snooty,” but I consider myself an artist. I grew up drawing and painting…but in my adult years, I moved into more of the sculptural realms, and left my sketchbooks by the wayside. Recently, I’ve found myself wanting to return to drawing….but being almost afraid to, having fallen out of practice. This post…and the blog that inspired it…are reminders to set those fears aside and have at it!

    • pseudicide says:

      That’s awesome and I’m very glad to hear it. No matter what level someone is at, I think it’s easy to forget that things like this are just fun.

  5. Pingback: Black Canary & Ms. Marvel | 5 MINUTE MARVELS

Leave a Reply

