Catching Up!

We’ve all been pretty busy lately here, between cons, birthdays, getting sick, work, and all the other various things life throws at us. We still have lots of interesting posts in the work, so we’re throwing this up as a sort of catch-all post, a version of Picks of the Week to make up for the last couple of weeks!

Chantaal: I’ll be honest, I haven’t really been keeping up with much comic news in the past month. Life has been crazy busy lately, but if there’s one thing I always have time for, it’s fangirling.

Thor is coming up REALLY SOON, and as tempting as it is, I’ve decided I won’t be hunting down every single scrap of video or images out there. I’m going in as fresh as I can when May rolls around, the better to enjoy every single second of it. It’s still hard to imagine Thor is kicking off what will lead into an incredibly Marvel movie universe, and seeing Thor and Cap pictured together makes me happy on so many levels.

Look at them! Being all cute and stuff!

Then there’s Captain America, which — okay. I’ve had an illicit love affair with Chris Evans since Not Another Teen Movie. (I love that movie, okay. Don’t judge me.) He’s one of my favorites across the board, and while I was undecided when he was first cast as Steve Rogers, the more I’ve seen of him the more I love him as Cap. I’ll defend Chris as Steve for as long as I can.

Plus, I only just realized last week that Captain America: The First Avenger is being released Comic Con Friday. That is going to be INTERESTING. The hundred thousand geeks congregated in San Diego will probably want to see it on opening night, so…it’s not a question of whether I’ll see it that night, it’s a question of whether I make it back alive.

That is totally what I would do.

It’s worth it, though.


Dee: I have been insanely busy the past few weeks.  Between working two conventions to getting bronchitis and an exotic form of pneumonia (seriously WHAT THE HELL BODY) I’ve been seriously out of commission as of late.  But I do have a few very exciting things that I wanted to share.

First is IDW’s announcement of Parker: The Martini Edition.  It’ll combine the Hunter and the Outfit, have a new 8 page Parker short story and a whole bunch of extra content.

Secondly is Teenage Satan.  What is it?  Well, I’m not telling.  But look here, or check it out at Boston Comic-con.  I am telling you it will be awesome.

Thirdly are the books I’ve loved lately.  I have a big pile here, but I’m going to list them off to save us all time and space.  Jonah Hex 66, by Palmiotti and Gray, with art by the brilliant Fiona Staples.  FIRST FEMALE ARTIST ON THE BOOK!  WHOOO!  Let there be many more.  Scarlet 5, by Bendis and Maleev.  Great art, great unfolding story. Cinderella Fables are Forever 2&3 (told you I was behind) by Roberson, McManus with covers by the glorious Chrissie Zullo.  The story still grabs me and I am loving it so much. Cindy is a great character, and is treated so well by Roberson.  Secret Six 32 by Simone and Calafiore.  WHAT THE EVER LOVING HELLS JUST HAPPENED THERE.  All I’ll say.

Finally, some really great advice for aspiring comic book writers by Gail Simone.  Check it out here.


Lina: Apparently the busy bug is contagious around here at GRC. Like Chantaal, I’ve been increasingly enthralled with the upcoming Captain America and Thor movies. Of course, my love has taken on the form of trolling the internet, avoiding spoilers and looking at gifs and trailers and sometimes oggling Entertainment Weekly covers. I am trying (and failing) to overblow my expectations because I would hate to ruin them movies with something like disappointment.

On the comics reading front, I’ve spent a large amount of time rereading somethings that I have enjoyed in the past. This meant rereading Black Widow: Deadly Origins which I find to be a very interesting (if somewhat eyeroll-inducing) read, but that might be my love of Natalia Romanova coming through. I caught up with Ultimate Spider-Man and finished the Hawkeye & Mockingbird short run from a couple months back. I have an ever-increasing stack of new things to read which I will hopefully conquer this week. Fingerscrossed.

On the DC front, I adored the Jimmy Olsen one shot. Of course, it was a little absurd, but Jimmy is such a great bit character that I enjoy it when he lets his stories get ahead of him. Not exactly the stuff to build a title after, but enough to make me laugh and have fun on a quick Sunday read. Plus it featured an appearance from Supergirl (knitting! so cute!) which I can’t help but love.

About Chantaal

A book reading, nail polish hoarding, makeup loving, TV marathoning, comic book talking Philosophy major. I want to be Rashida Jones when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Catching Up!

  1. judah says:

    I’m still on the fence about Cap (even as a comic character, I’ve never gotten into him)…Thor I’m looking forward to! The two together…yes, please.

    • Chantaal says:

      Haha, my views are the other way around. :) Cap is definitely a hard character to get into, but Civil War (as crazy as that was) turned me around on him and I absolutely love Steve Rogers now. I’ve only recently begun to get into Thor (through Thor: The Might Avenger).

  2. *happy sigh* I love it when you guys post updates on what you’re reading (or… um… looking forward to watching!)

    I’ve been reading Young Avengers, and I just picked up the I, Zombie trade collection to try.

    Cheers,
    Kaz
    (de-lurking)

  3. ChrisWinter says:

    Thor – yes, by the gods!
    Cap – umm… well, the ONLY problem I’ve had with him is the ‘A’ on his forehead. I don’t know how that’s going to look in the movie.
    Poor Cap. :[

Leave a Reply

