Teenage Satan!

There’s been a lot of buzz on the internet about Teenage Satan lately.  From their surprise announcement at Boston Comic Con (and the party of the year, from what I hear), to coverage on Newsarama and iFanboy, there are a lot of people interested in this all-female creator-owned project.  I was lucky enough to be able to chat with Marsha Cooke and Stephanie Buscema, two thirds of the creative team behind Teenage Satan.

Who is Teenage Satan? 

MC: Teenage Satan, real name Luc Satan, is the 14 year old son of Lucifer and Jezebel Satan. He had been homeschooled up until this point, but it’s time he got some real world experience and start real school in September. He’s a freshman (grade 9).

He’s a mama’s boy, sensitive and caring, and not prepared at all for the trials of high school life.

SB: Teenage Satan (Luc), is a rockin’ little demon, son of Lucifer and Jezebel and the next in line to take over the family business, which is running things down in hell. He’s just starting his new life in public school, after being home schooled by his mom for years. He’s adorable, creepy, awkward and a bit geeky. He’s someone we can all relate to in one way or another.

Who came up the idea?  Was it collaborative or was it one of you, and how did you approach the others?

MC: I came up with the initial premise, fleshed it out with Candis, and then we approached Stephanie.  Once the three of us were a set team, we put the world together.

SB: Marsha came to me with the idea last year, she gave me a list of characters, settings, and a description of the project. I fell in love with it! I’ve been wanting to get my hands on a project that would allow me endless creative freedom so this was the perfect opportunity. I started sketching and painting what came into my head and the rest is history.

What made you decide on the style?  It’s beautiful and retro, and I love it, but was it just a natural fit or did you have other ideas before settling on this? 

SB: It just kind of happened. I had a list of the characters from the girls with brief descriptions for each, I just took it and ran with it. Whatever came into my head went right on the paper.

MC: Stephanie’s art has a timeless quality – her monsters are both terrifying and cute at the same time. Her imagination is a natural match for anything Hell themed, which I think (hope) was part of the reason she chose to jump on board.

One of the things I love about this, is that is going to be available as an app and the many facets of it.  Was that something you always wanted, or was that something that happened secondarily?

SB:  This was all Marsha’s genius! She has some amazing ideas as far as the app goes, I was just blown away when she initially approached me about it. It’s not only a comic, it’s a whole experience. I feel that delivering the content digitally is a great way to get the content in to everyone’s hands. More importantly, it’s a great way to get comics into the hands of teens!

MC: Digital with games was always the goal. I was addicted to Angry Birds, I’ve seen everyone fight for rankings on Bejeweled Blitz. Everyone wants to escape into something fun, even for 2 minutes. With 666oduko, a word jumble or a jigsaw puzzle, you are taken away from your private hell, for a minute of escapist fun. Everything is so serious now, we really want to reinforce the concept of fun – it’s been gone for so long no one remembers fun anymore

Who is your favourite character within in the comic?  And who do you think will surprise us?

MC:  My favourite character is Jezebel – I love that she’s always happy and helpful. Nick and Nicki’s twisted relationship is going to develop through out the run into something special, but only in a few creepy ways.

For updates, check out the website http://teenagesatan.com/ or follow TeenageSatan666 on twitter!  Otherwise, you’ll have to wait with the rest of us until September for this awesome new project to come to fruition.  Or, if you’re at Heroes Con go by and say hi, I have it on good authority that they’ll be there.

About deense

Canastralian. Cosplayer. Comic book addict. Travel addict. Convention addict. ...I think that's a lot of addictions and I might need a 12 step program
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

