Chantaal’s Favorite Artists: Part 1

Comic book art is an important part of how a book is read. As strong as the writing can be, a story is still 50% art, and how we enjoy that art is all opinion. Good or bad art can make or break a story for any reader, and over the years I’ve started to figure out what sort of art I like in my comics. Clean, clear lines, good coloring (let’s not forget how important a colorist is as well) and realistic people are what I like. That’ll probably be reflected in the artists I choose to highlight in this series.

This list isn’t any sort of order; I’m just putting together names as I remember them. I’ll have more posts on the way as well, as I undoubtedly come up with more artists I love and forgot to add.

Emanuela Lupacchino (DeviantArt)
A breath of fresh air after a run of so-so artists on Peter David’s X-Factor, I’ve fallen in love with Emanuela’s art. Looking back, I’d been a fan of her art for a while on DA, but it took me a few issues of X-Factor before I made the connection. She’s fantastic.

David Yardin (DeviantArt)
He’s had a few full comic gigs, but David Yardin is mostly known for his cover work (X-Factor, Ms. Marvel, Avengers: The Initiative, etc). He first came into focus for me with his X-Factor covers, having handled every cover since issue 39 or so. I’m a huge fan, and got his autograph on one of my favorite X-Factor covers ever two Comic Cons ago. Plus, he draws Siryn with freckles. Deal maker.

Marcio Takara (DeviantArt)
Marcio doesn’t get enough recognition. His art is the kind comic books were made for, straddling the line between arty and cutesy. In his work with The Incredibles and Incorruptible, he has a real way of adding personality to his art. His Tiny Marvels/Tiny DCs are some of my favorites.

Stay tuned for future posts and more artists!

About Chantaal

A book reading, nail polish hoarding, makeup loving, TV marathoning, comic book talking Philosophy major. I want to be Rashida Jones when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Favorites and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

